top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEnda Smith

1SBD's Bets: Week 3, 2019

Last week was another disappointing week where we were close again but no cigar, which doesn't really count for much.


The Cowboys easily covered the 5 point spread and I am kind of annoyed I didn't just leave them as my 3 pt selection for the week rather than splitting the best bets.


My preseason intuition about the Jags may have been correct, as they could very well win this division, even with Minshew at QB. They covered last week and could have won outright.

I am annoyed I went against them. Houston's OL is plain terrible. They won't be making waves in the NFL until they sort it out.


The other two selections were good picks, but just failed to get there in the end. Kyler Murray pulled off some heroic to let the Cardinals cover and in Green Bay, Kirk Cousins simply couldn't throw the ball, but the Vikings are a solid team and if he improves at all, they are contenders.


We finished at -2.68 Units for the week again. Hopefully we can pick it up this week.


Best Bet


Bengals @ Bills


I can't seem to get my head around the Bengals this year. Them, along with Miami, were one of my basement teams in the NFL for this season. I didn't see them winning more than 3 games. I was nearly left with pie on my face after week 1 in Seattle. However last week, they were really shown up against what is an improving 49ers team. They were poor offensively and defensively.

The Bills on the other hand are 2-0 through two road games and are coming back home to Buffalo with some momentum behind them. Their defence is playing lights out and Josh Allen is starting to show what I have always thought of him as a good NFL QB.

The Bills should win this by a touchdown or more


Verdict: Bills -6.5 @ 10/11

3pts


Next Best


Broncos @ Packers


The Bronco's offence has been abysmal so far this season. Do you think that all of a sudden they will make it click in Lambeau against a a stout Green Bay defence that is really starting to make a name for itself? And as we've said before, as this season progresses, Lafleur's offence will become more fluent for Rodgers. I think the Packers will be moving to 3-0 this evening. Easily.


Verdict: Packers -6.5 @ 8/11

2pts


Other Selection


Raiders @ Vikings


I was against this at the start of the week, I thought it was too many points. I was annoyed at how badly Kirk Cousins played. He has proven that he can be good, but it just doesn't show in Big/Primetime games. Last week was a big game. This week isn't. The Raiders managed to score 10 points at home last week against what is a poor defence of the Chiefs. They are really going to struggle against a good defence in Minnesota going cross country for an early Kickoff. I like the Vikings to win by double digits, lets just hope Cousins does too!


Verdict: Vikings -9 @ 10/11

1pt


ACCUMULATOR:

Bills -6.5 (v Bengals)

Packers -6.5 (v Broncos)

Vikings -9 (v Raiders)

Cardinals -2.5 (v Panthers)

Chargers -3.5 (v Texans)


@ 23.43/1

.5pt


Week 3 Total Staked: 6.5 pts


P/L Year: -5.36 pts


COVER PHOTO: Sporting News

bottom of page